header image


2017 Award Winner

The 2017 Women2Women Award winner, Geisha Williams, is not only first woman to be named CEO and President of the Pacific Gas and Electric Company, but is also the first Latina CEO and President of a fortune 500 company. This achievement further stands out considering only 5% of executive board members are women at the top 200 power and utility companies.

The daughter of Cuban political dissidents who fled the Castro regime to the United States in 1967, she learned from a young age how to work hard to overcome the challenges in front of her.
Before the age of 1o, she was her family’s main translator, taking part in the major discussions involved with running their small business.

She turned what many would consider hardship into great success with a bachelor’s degree in engineering, a master’s degree in business administration, and an over thirty year career in the energy industry. As CEO and President of PG&E, Williams and her teams are responsible for providing safe, reliable, and affordable power to 16 million people in northern and central California.

In addition to serving on the PG&E Corporation board of directors, Williams is a director at the Edison Electric Institute, the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations, and the Association of Edison Illuminating Companies. She also serves as the board chair for the Center for Energy Workforce Development

2016 Award Winner

The 2016 Women 2 Women inspiration award was given to a woman who has been a pioneer in Washington. Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen was born in Havana, Cuba and fled the Castro regime with her family and came to America without knowing how to speak a word of English.

She went on to earn multiple degrees including a Ph.D before being elected to the Florida House of Representatives. She later made history in 1989 by winning a special election and becoming the first Hispanic woman elected to Congress.

Throughout her time in the House as a champion of freedom, democracy, and human rights — she rose to become the first women to Chair the House Foreign Affairs Committee.

2015 Award Winners

The first winners of Main Street’s inaugural Women2Women Inspiration Prize are Representatives Susan Brooks of Indiana and Renee Ellmers of North Carolina.

When Sarah Chamberlain originally had the idea of a series of forums that would bring together women around the country to talk about politics and issues of importance to women, she asked Reps. Brooks and Ellmers if they would be willing to come along to provide the perspectives of female members of Congress. They immediately saw the value of such a series and unhesitatingly accepted. Their participation helped to make the initial meetings of the Women2Women tour an enormous success.

Main Street is grateful to Reps. Brooks and Ellmers for their contributions toward increasing women’s political understanding and participation, and proud of their many accomplishments. Their pioneering endeavors on the Women2Women Tour will set the standard for years to come.

2015 award winner Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN)

That’s Main Street Advocacy!

We’re glad you’re here and ask you to join us. With your support, we WILL make a difference!